Lions have good season, but look for improvement

Team overcame deficiencies in speed, size

Nov. 7, 2011

New Berlin - The New Berlin Eisenhower football team got back on the winning track this year, and coach Jeff Setz was pleased, but not satisfied, with the results.

The Lions finished with an 8-3 record overall, 6-2 in the Woodland Conference Black Division, good enough for second place behind Greendale (8-0).

They put 13 players on the all-conference team and they went 1-1 in the postseason, beating Cudahy, 27-7, and losing to Wisconsin Lutheran, 28-17.

"We are very pleased with the outcome of the season," Setz said. "We're not satisfied. We look to improve on that next year - win more, go deeper in the playoffs."

Setz said the Lions had some concerns with their size and speed, how physical they would be and adjusting to the new schemes.

"We were not the fastest or the biggest team," Setz said. "But I sense that we had a good off-season - the kids spent a lot of time in the weight room, going to camps and practicing on their own. And every coach was very receptive to what we wanted to put in this year."

Offensive coordinator Mike Teipner put in the Wing-T offense this year and Setz was happy with the results.

"Any time you put in something new, you don't know how to it will take," Setz said. "I was very pleased how it all turned out.

"That's a credit to the players. They were very receptive, as were the coaches. I have a great coaching staff. They also put the time into it in the off-season planning and installing.

"It took a combination of coachable kids and a quality coaching staff to pull this off."

The Lions had five players named to the all-conference first-team offense and three earned honorable mentions.

John Crowley, who made it as a first-team quarterback and inside linebacker, was named the division's Defensive Player of the Year.

Crowley, Dylan Petre (tight end/defensive back) and Tom LaSalle (offensive/defensive line) were two-way selections for the Lions.

Besides Crowley, Petre and linemen LaSalle, Paul Gaber and Jordan Liebe made first team and running backs Mitch Teipner and Darren Lehsten and wide receiver Nick Holicek were honorable mentions.

Eisenhower had eight players on the defensive team, including six first-teamers.

Making the first team were linemen LaSalle and Anthony Stewart, outside linebackers Steve Itsines and Turner Sagat, inside linebacker Crowley and Petre at defensive back.

Teipner at defensive back and Matt Pscheid at outside linebacker made honorable mention.

Eisenhower will lose 23 seniors to graduation - Crowley, Itsines, LaSalle, Liebe, Petre, Pscheid, Teipner, Josh Balles, Ryan Bay, Jake Bickler, Than Christopoulos, Garrett Davis, Nishant Deshpande, Nick Devroy, Clay Hersch, Darren Lehsten, Jordan Mather, Tim Ohlert, Jon Peters, Alex Steinberger, Max Tidball, Steve Taus and Adam Walters.

Sportsmanship noted

The officiating crew who worked the postseason game between Eisenhower and Wisconsin Lutheran had some compliments on the report to the WIAA, which was passed on to Eisenhower officials.

Both the Eisenhower and Wisco players were a pleasure to work with, according to reporting official Scott Kessler.

Kessler, who worked with Dan Ausloos, Mike Gerdes, Adam Inclan and Larry Kampman, told the WIAA the following in their game report.

"Players for both teams were the most well behaved and polite players we had all year. There was not one word said to the opposing teams, they helped each other off of the pile, on fumbles they got up immediately when they were told, and they treated the officials with respect.

"The same goes for both coaching staffs. Overall it was the most enjoyable game we worked in a couple of years."




Latest Photo Galleries