Five candidates vie for New Berlin mayor

Primary election Feb. 19 will pare field to two

Jan. 4, 2013

New Berlin - Two-term New Berlin Mayor Jack Chiovatero is facing four challengers in his bid for a third term, with one of those challengers being a former mayor and another a current alderman.

Mary Claire Lanser, 14550 W. Meadowshire Drive, served as New Berlin mayor from 1993 to 1997. District 7 Alderman David Ament, 18330 W. Lynette Lane, is running both for mayor and unopposed for re-election as alderman.

If Ament is elected both mayor and alderman, the Common Council would likely appoint someone to serve as 7th District alderman until an election can be held in April 2014 for someone to finish the rest of the term, city clerk Kari Morgan said. But she will confirm that if the need arises, she said.

Because five candidates are running for mayor, a primary election will be held Feb. 19. The top two vote-getters will go on to the spring election April 2.

Chiovatero, 3485 Long Acre Drive, was elected to his first four-year term as mayor in 2005 after serving as alderman for six years.

Filling out the slate of five mayoral candidates are Janet Schulz, 16020 W. St. Francis Drive, and Joseph Wieneke, 18200 W. Lynette Lane.

The mayor's pay is $88,900 annually.

Alderman races all unopposed

Four aldermanic terms also will be up in April with incumbents running unopposed in three of them and newcomer Joseph Stribl, 15195 W. Harmony Drive, unopposed in District 5. Incumbent Deena Liska is stepping down as 5th District alderwoman in April.

Incumbents besides Ament who are running are John Hopkins, 13221 W. Meadow Lane., District 1, and Ron Seidl, 17631 W. Westward Drive, District 3.

New Berlin municipal judge Joseph Dorlack is running unopposed for a third four-year term. The municipal judge receives $28,369 annually.

New faces on School Board

On the school side, all three candidates for the New Berlin School Board are running unopposed. Only one of the three incumbents is seeking re-election. He is Tom David, 4348 S. Regal Court, who is finishing his first term.

Not seeking re-election are former School Board President John Kegel who is finishing his second term and member Keith Hastings who is finishing his first.

New to the School Board in April will be Jody Kugler, 18430 W. Hillcrest Drive, and Nate Nickerson, 15190 W. Harmony Drive.

School board members receive $3,500 and terms are for three years.

- Jane Ford-Stewart


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries