School District of New Berlin News

Information for the New Berlin community on school district news, events, and celebrations of success.

Herb Kohl Awards, Counselor of the Year, Student Scholarship Honors

The School District of New Berlin proudly congratulates our staff and students for these recent awards and achievements!

Dethloff Awarded Herb Kohl Foundation Fellowship

Emily Dethloff, a science teacher at New Berlin Eisenhower Middle/High School, was selected as a
2014 Herb Kohl Fellowship recipient. Dethloff and her school each will receive a $1,000 grant and she will be honored at a regional luncheon on March 30.

Dethloff is one of 100 Wisconsin teachers named Fellows "for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and for their leadership and service within and outside of the classroom." More about Dethloff

Mehta Honored with Herb Kohl Foundation Excellence Scholarship

Rishil Mehta, a senior at New Berlin Eisenhower, has been chosen as a 2014 Herb Kohl Foundation Excellence Scholarship recipient. Rashil is one of 187 graduating high school students chosen for the honor and $1,000 grants.

The recipients were chosen because they have "demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside of the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond."

Whitty Chosen as Middle School Counselor of the Year

New Berlin Eisenhower Counselor Mary Jane Whitty was selected as the Middle School Counselor of the Year by the Wisconsin School Counselor Association. She received the award at the 2014 WSCA Annual Conference in February in Madison.

Among those nominating Whitty for the award were Beverly Tannert, Eisenhower's Registrar and Student Services secretary; student Rishil Mehta; New Berlin Police Officer Steve Dodson; and Clint Grochowski, a former Eisenhower teacher and current Wauwatosa School District associate principal. More about Whitty

Students Chosen as National Merit Scholarship Finalists, Presidential Scholar Candidates

Students at New Berlin West and New Berlin Eisenhower are National Merit Scholar Finalists. Out of more than 300,000 nominees across the country, about 8,000 will be recognized as National Merit Scholarship recipients.

At New Berlin West, students Kayla Rassmussen and Matt Nyman are finalists. At New Berlin Eisenhower, Vivian Jiang, Andrew Lin, Alison Lodermeier, Rishil Mehta, Brian Steppe and Zhaoyuan Wu are finalists.

Vivian Jiang, Rishil Mehta and Zhaoyuan Wu also hae been named as candidates for the Presidential Scholars Program. Semi-finalists will be announced in April and scholars in May.  Annually, up to 141 students are chosen as scholars.

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Page Tools